Queensland claim back-to-back Jack Merrick titles

Queensland has taken the title of top State in the 2017 GMA National Conference Jack Merrick Memorial Trophy played at Royal Adelaide Golf Club today.

In what was an amazingly tight contest, it took a double countback and the need to go to the 7th best stableford score to determine a winner.

Queensland claimed the trophy with a team score of 153 points, but it was the 25 points scored by Carbrook Golf Club’s Scott Wagstaff that finally clinched the title for the maroons, just scraping ahead of Nedlands Golf Club’s Darrin Ramshaw by a point, leaving the WA sandgropers ruing those missed putt opportunities. 

Spare a thought for the home team who put in their best performance in a very long time, only to miss out on a countback to finish in 3rd.  Rumour has it, a certain GMA President and host GM failed to perform under the extreme home ground pressures!

In the Billie Friedlander Trophy, WA Golf Club’s Melissa Castaldi took out top prize with a solid 34 points.  The Leon Thomson Memorial Trophy went to Massey Park’s Anthony Rosillo with a great score of 38 points around Glenelg’s challenging layout, whilst the Ted Coker Championship Cup was won by Bunbury Golf Club’s Des Shearer with an equally impressive scratch stableford score of 34 points, also at Glenelg.


Jack Merrick Memorial Trophy

QUEENSLAND – 153 points
WESTERN AUSTRALIA – 153 points c/b
SOUTH AUSTRALIA – 153 points c/b
VICTORIA – 146 points
NEW SOUTH WALES – 139 points

Ted Coker Championship Cup

Des Shearer (34 points)
Bunbury Golf Club

Billie Friedlander Trophy

Melissa Castaldi (34 points)
Western Australia Golf Club

Leon Thompson Memorial Trophy

Anthony Rosillo (38 points c/b)
Massey Park Golf Club